RSS

My trip to Arkansas…

02 Jun

It’s been a few weeks since my trip to Little Rock Central High School in Arkansas. I’ve had a hard time putting the experience into words. The word I’ve used consistently to explain it verbally to people has been amazing. As far as writing about it I knew I’d have too much to say. I’m going to do my best to keep it short.

It was an amazing trip for one because of the history of the school. It played a large role in integrating our public schools. As I walked the hallways I felt the presence of those who had stood up for so many students they’d never meet. The Little Rock Nine roamed the halls with hatred being spewed at them so that we could walk freely through the halls. The history walked alongside of me and I will never forget that feeling.

It was amazing because the students I met with weren’t LGBTQ students. Some might have identified as such but I met with communication classes and students from the AVID Program. Yet they were open and asked a lot of questions. No one laughed at the subject. They were honest and so was I in my responses.

It was amazing because the students showed an interest in someone other than themselves. I don’t mean me although they treated me like a celebrity. That felt pretty cool. They showed concern for LGBTQ teens and the coming out experience. They were open and attentive. They made me extremely proud to be in their company.

Life sometimes gets in the way of our dreams but these kids were determined and focused. I have no doubt they will achieve their desires.  I hope that life doesn’t make them judgmental and jaded. They seem to embrace a world that allows their hearts to be welcoming. They will be the generation to conquer the underlying hate that exists in the world.

They are who we all should be.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “My trip to Arkansas…

  1. Christine Locke (@wrtrdoll)

    August 14, 2013 at 10:08 pm

    Hi, Stacey, we follow each other on twitter. Great to hear you had a trip to my home state and that it went well! What is the AVID program?

     
    • coffeybrownbooks

      September 16, 2013 at 11:35 pm

      It is a program that focuses and guides students that will be the first to attend college in their family. It was awesome! Sorry for the delayed response. Hope all is well…

       

Leave a Reply

 
Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Christine Locke Books

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

vsteeleauthor

Lover of Romance

Confessions of a contemporary gypsy

When I’m not travelling, I’m dreaming about it. And then I write it all down.

Lucy's Lit Lovin' Blog

Reading and writing blog!

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Daily (w)rite

A Daily Ritual of Writing

Underachievers Anonymous

My life as a below average performing adult.

Penelope Jones

Little bit of Nice and a Whole lot of Naughty!

Crazy Train To Tinky Town

To Turkey & back; adventures in life, romance, heartbreak & seeing the funny

caffeinated sonnets

A pen doesn't complete a book, a heart does.

My Blank Page

Script Magazine's pick for "Website of the Week" (May 2012)

Screenwriting In Seattle

Dedicated to the art of screenwriting & film production

Black Book Expo Express

News & notes from the Los Angeles Black Book Expo

thefinalcurtain1

About Who We Are And Our Differences - Our Writing

Brussels is Love

Emancipation, fun, culture and solidarity in the City.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,704 other followers

