RSS

What does writing LGBTQ literature mean to me?

24 Aug

The LGBTQ literature means a great deal to me. I think that books in this genre are very important. It allows people that identify as LGBTQ to read books that might closely reflect the trials, tribulations, joys and triumphs they’ve experienced. Although the number of them has increased there needs to be more. Many youth don’t have that one person they can relate to when they are going through issues that society doesn’t always accept. This further isolates them. Finding that one person or story in a book is quite helpful to them along their journey. Also, LGBTQ readers should be able to identify with LGBTQ characters just as much as heterosexual readers do.

Being able to identify with others is important to our personal growth. It opens our eyes to the realization that we aren’t the only person in the world experiencing any issue or situation. Identifying with characters, fictional or not, aids in self-awareness and empowerment. Love is love but when the love your reading about looks more like yours, it becomes easier to understand.

When I was growing up there weren’t many LGBTQ books available. I’m glad that’s changed. One comment I’ve received consistently from people that have read my book, BrookLyn’s Journey, is that the story is universal. Exactly. That’s because love is universal. We all travel on the road to self-discovery. Being LGBTQ just adds a little twist.

The FREEBIES…
Comment on this post for a chance to win a FREE eBook of BrookLyn’s Journey. There are two copies available. I will also be giving away two FREE copies of my new book, The Awakening of Graye Moon, when it is available. Please leave a comment and an email address. A winner will be selected randomly and announced on Monday!

Read more posts here: Rainbow Blog Hop Link

 
42 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

42 responses to “What does writing LGBTQ literature mean to me?

  1. andreanook

    August 24, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    Please count me in.

     
  2. Fierce Dolan

    August 24, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    Great to meet you on this hop!

     
  3. laurie g

    August 24, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    i haven’t red brooklyn’s journey but it does sound really interesting!

    parisfan_ca@yaoo.com

     
    • coffeybrownbooks

      August 24, 2012 at 4:39 pm

      Thank you! I hope it’s interesting. LOL! Have a great day!

       
  4. KimberlyFDR

    August 24, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    I always love these blogs hops, getting to know new-to-me authors and a deeper understanding of my favorites 🙂

    kimberlyFDR@yahoo.com

     
    • coffeybrownbooks

      August 24, 2012 at 7:03 pm

      I’m a new author and I love meeting new authors/readers. Love connecting. Thanks!

       
  5. Loh

    August 25, 2012 at 2:40 am

    thank you for participating in this blog hop because it’s been an interesting hop reading author’s passion on writting GLBTQ… thank you for the giveaway as well…

    lohahmooi(@)hotmail(.)com

     
    • coffeybrownbooks

      August 25, 2012 at 2:49 am

      Thank you for stopping by my blog. I appreciate it!

       
  6. Trix

    August 25, 2012 at 2:58 am

    It’s been such a great blog hop…all these great reasons to love LGBT books!

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

     
  7. akasarahmadison

    August 25, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    One comment I’ve received consistently from people that have read my book, BrookLyn’s Journey, is that the story is universal. Exactly. That’s because love is universal. We all travel on the road to self-discovery. Being LGBTQ just adds a little twist.

    Yes! Exactly! Thank you for sharing that with us here. 🙂

    I’m so enjoying meeting new-to-me authors on this hop, too!

    akasarahmadison at gmail dot com

     
    • coffeybrownbooks

      August 26, 2012 at 1:53 am

      Thanks for stopping by! I appreciate you taking time out to read my post and comment. Appreciate you!

       
  8. Brandon Shire (@TheBrandonShire)

    August 25, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    Couldn’t hop without stopping by. Good post.

     
    • coffeybrownbooks

      August 26, 2012 at 1:52 am

      I stopped by yours too! I just had to. LOL! Be good…

       
  9. Giselle

    August 25, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    Loved your post. Thanks for participating in the Hop.

     
    • coffeybrownbooks

      August 26, 2012 at 1:51 am

      Thanks for stopping by! I was excited to participate in this hop! I’ve met some great people!

       
  10. Cornelia

    August 25, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    Thanks for the post and hop.Glad to add another author to my reading list.
    cvsimpkins@msn.com

     
    • coffeybrownbooks

      August 26, 2012 at 1:51 am

      Thanks for stopping by! I’m honored you’re adding me to your list. I appreciate it…

       
  11. Tracey D

    August 25, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    This was an interesting post. Thank you for sharing it with us. I look forward in reading your works.

    Thanks,
    Tracey D
    booklover0226 at gmail dot com

     
  12. in2thewood

    August 25, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    I love seeing so many positive people on this hop! Makes me feel a little shamefaced for being such a downer. Because of posts like these, I’m going to work on the upside.

     
    • coffeybrownbooks

      August 26, 2012 at 1:50 am

      I’m sure you’re not a downer. I’ll see you on the upside though. LOL! Thanks for stopping by!

       
  13. Tempeste O'Riley

    August 26, 2012 at 1:01 am

    “Love is love”
    Great post! and thanks for stopping by mine.

    Tempe
    tempeste.oriley@gmail.com

     
  14. misterstewardess

    August 26, 2012 at 3:29 am

    It’s so true! My post is all about how happy I was to have gay fiction to read when I was coming out, and you’re right — part of the fascination was finally, for the first time in my life, being able to actually IDENTIFY with the people in a story. At last, I didn’t have to change all kinds of pronouns and skip all the sexy parts… 😉 Thank you for your contribution; I can’t wait to meet BrookLyn.

     
    • coffeybrownbooks

      August 26, 2012 at 5:01 pm

      I can’t wait for to you meet BrookLyn. Identifying with a character makes a book so much better to me. Thanks for stopping by!

       
  15. yganoe

    August 26, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    Wonderful post! Count me in please.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

     
  16. Barb

    August 26, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    BrookLyn’s Journey is on my tbr-list. I think YA is especially relevant to show that ‘it gets better’ indeed, but also shine a spotlight on the experiences of GLBTQ teens. I agree that there needs to be more, in every genre. For ourselves, but also because people who generally read a lot, will be interested. More visibility – more acceptance.

    Barb
    demeter94@yahoo.de

     
  17. Shirley Ann

    August 26, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    Hi
    I enjoyed reading your post. It’s great how in the last five years more and more GLBTQ books are being published. Please count me in for your Contest you area new author to me. Thank you

    ShirleyAnn@speakman40.freeserve.co.uk

     
  18. Lilly

    August 26, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    Everyone should get their own happy ending!

    Lillywriting@gmail.com

     
  19. SusieQ

    August 26, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    Loving this hop and all the new writers I’m discovering! Thanks for joining and sharing!
    seritzko AT verizon DOT net

     
    • coffeybrownbooks

      August 26, 2012 at 11:35 pm

      I’m happy I’m meeting new readers. This is great! Thanks for stopping by!

       
  20. bn100

    August 27, 2012 at 2:47 am

    Very nice post.

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

     
    • coffeybrownbooks

      August 27, 2012 at 3:28 am

      Thanks for stopping by! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

       
  21. chickie434

    August 27, 2012 at 4:35 am

    Thanks for the great post and for participating!

    tiger-chick-1(at)hotmail(dot)com

     
    • coffeybrownbooks

      August 27, 2012 at 4:56 am

      Thanks for stopping by to read this post and I’m glad you enjoyed it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Christine Locke Books

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Confessions of a contemporary gypsy

'I wonder if I've been changed in the night. Let me think.'

vsteeleauthor

Lover of Romance

Lucy's Lit Lovin' Blog

Reading and writing blog!

AWARD WINNING AUTHOR DIANNA BELLEROSE

Women's Advocate, Radio Host, Speaker, and Book Publisher

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Underachievers Anonymous

My life as an adult who doesn't look good on paper.

Penelope Jones

Little bit of Nice and a Whole lot of Naughty!

Crazy Train To Tinky Town

To Turkey & back; adventures in life, romance, heartbreak & seeing the funny

caffeinated sonnets

A pen doesn't complete a book, a heart does.

My Blank Page

Script Magazine's pick for "Website of the Week" (May 2012)

Screenwriting In Seattle

Dedicated to the art of screenwriting & film production

Black Book Expo Express

News & notes from the Los Angeles Black Book Expo

The Final Curtain

MUSINGS: Author - Books - The World

Brussels is Love

Emancipation, fun, culture and solidarity in the City.

