RSS

Homeless LGBTQ Youth…

18 Oct

I was getting ready to work on a manuscript that I started a few days ago. I was a little distracted so I did some research on youth homelessness. My eyes filled with tears as I thought about the large number of teens sleeping on the streets every night in many states across our great county. How do I cry over children that parents have easily discarded? Are their parents off somewhere crying too or are their homophobic views keeping them comfortable at night? I’d lean toward the latter.

My focus has been solely on LGBTQ youth but it doesn’t mean I think any child should be sleeping on a park bench. The reason I’ve chosen to focus on LGBTQ youth is because issues related to homelessness are magnified when sexuality issues are involved. Part of me can almost understand a teen being removed from a home that has been destructive due to violence or drug use. Being tossed out of the home for sexuality issues to me is incomprehensible.

However, the parents aren’t the only ones that have failed these children. Society has as well. Budget cuts to shelters result in more kids sleeping on dangerous streets. When we see them we ignore them. We walk past these kids daily. They’ve been discarded and forgotten by society. I refuse to forget them and in addition, I refuse to allow anyone, including YOU, to forget them. We all have struggled and we all rise again. Give these kids another chance. They deserve a second chance at a good life.

I will begin volunteering at the Time Out Youth in Charlotte soon. I was inspired by the sparkle that each youth I met had in their eye. These are great kids. They aren’t using drugs or creating problems for others. They, like you and I have, are simply trying to find their true selves. It just so happens that they are LGBTQ youth. Take away the label and simplify it even more—they’re kids, teens and young adults. They deserve more…

I’m donating to Time Out Youth in Charlotte, NC and The Ali Forney Center in NYC. A portion from the sale of EVERY book I have sold and will ever sell will support homeless LGBT youth at these two programs. You can choose whatever organizations you want. It can be a donation of time, books, basic supplies, or a monetary donation—big or small. PLEASE just do something…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Homeless LGBTQ Youth…

  1. Harriett

    February 7, 2013 at 12:48 am

    Very good information. Lucky me I ran across your site by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have bookmarked it for later!

     
    • coffeybrownbooks

      February 10, 2013 at 2:07 pm

      Thanks Harriet! Glad you’re here too. Hope all is well…

       

Leave a Reply

 
Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Christine Locke Books

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Confessions of a contemporary gypsy

'I wonder if I've been changed in the night. Let me think.'

vsteeleauthor

Lover of Romance

AWARD WINNING AUTHOR DIANNA BELLEROSE

Women's Advocate, Radio Host, Speaker, and Book Publisher

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Underachievers Anonymous

My life as an adult who doesn't look good on paper.

Penelope Jones

Little bit of Nice and a Whole lot of Naughty!

Crazy Train To Tinky Town

To Turkey & back; adventures in life, romance, heartbreak & seeing the funny

caffeinated sonnets

A pen doesn't complete a book, a heart does.

My Blank Page

Script Magazine's pick for "Website of the Week" (May 2012)

Screenwriting In Seattle

Dedicated to the art of screenwriting & film production

Black Book Expo Express

News & notes from the Los Angeles Black Book Expo

The Final Curtain

MUSINGS: Author - Books - The World

Brussels is Love

Emancipation, fun, culture and solidarity in the City.

