RSS

This thing called fear…

12 Mar

Fear prevents a lot of people from following their dreams. Fear should not control us. This doesn’t mean that we shouldn’t have some anxiety when trying something new. So many people allow fear to cripple them. It backs them into a corner and they live thinking and planning their dreams but never stepping out to make them come alive.

When I was younger I wanted to be a singer. I used to sing with my sisters at all of the talent shows around town and we were really good. Despite how good we were we never went further than that because we allowed fear and doubt to scream louder than the desire we had to be a successful singing trio.

Publishing a book was another dream of mine. One day something inside clicked and said, “Why can’t you do it?” I started doing research on book publishing probably unconsciously searching for reasons to convince myself why I couldn’t do successfully what so many others had done.  What I found instead was an abundance of information on self-publishing. The only answer I could come up with was that I absolutely could do it.

Currently I am working on some new writing projects. This will be one of the biggest leaps of faith I’ve ever taken. I have written a screenplay and am working on two others. I haven’t spoken much about it because I’m not one to tell too much before things are done. I don’t want to sound like I’m bragging. I’m not a fan when others do it so silence becomes golden when I’m creating projects. I’m mentioning it now to encourage people to follow their dreams. As long as you have breath try whatever it is that’s burning inside of you. What’s the harm in your idea not working? None. The harm comes when you don’t try but let your dreams drift away silently.

Do not let fear keep you from following your dreams…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Christine Locke Books

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Confessions of a contemporary gypsy

'I wonder if I've been changed in the night. Let me think.'

vsteeleauthor

Lover of Romance

AWARD WINNING AUTHOR DIANNA BELLEROSE

Women's Advocate, Radio Host, Speaker, and Book Publisher

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Underachievers Anonymous

My life as an adult who doesn't look good on paper.

Penelope Jones

Little bit of Nice and a Whole lot of Naughty!

Crazy Train To Tinky Town

To Turkey & back; adventures in life, romance, heartbreak & seeing the funny

caffeinated sonnets

A pen doesn't complete a book, a heart does.

My Blank Page

Script Magazine's pick for "Website of the Week" (May 2012)

Screenwriting In Seattle

Dedicated to the art of screenwriting & film production

Black Book Expo Express

News & notes from the Los Angeles Black Book Expo

The Final Curtain

MUSINGS: Author - Books - The World

Brussels is Love

Emancipation, fun, culture and solidarity in the City.

